States throughout the nation have passed laws in an effort to reduce the risks of accidents caused by teenage driving. New York is no exception. These laws create safety factors to help prevent teenagers from getting into car accidents.
New York has a Graduated License Law that restricts drivers under the age of 18 who have a learner’s permit or junior driver license. Some of the restrictions depend on the times and places where you drive in New York.
Drivers under 18 must know the limitations based on three different geographic NY locations:
A junior driver is a driver who is under the age of 18 and has a learner permit or a driver license of class MJ or DJ.
Unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor, junior drivers cannot carry more than one passenger under the age of 21. The exception is when passengers under age 21 are immediate family members. The supervising licensed adult must sit in the front seat next to the junior driver.
Junior drivers must acquire 50 hours of driving experience, which includes 15 hours of night driving. The parent or guardian also must verify the driving experience. In addition, they must wait six months before scheduling their road test to obtain a driver license.
A licensed driver who is minimally 21 years of age must accompany a learning permit holder when driving. Learning permit drivers are not allowed to drive on any street within a New York City park. They may not drive in a bridge or tunnel under the jurisdiction of the Triborough Bridge & Tunnel Authority. They may not drive on the following parkways in Westchester County:
As a parent, you can help your teenagers stay as safe as possible by ensuring they abide by New York’s Graduated License law and restrictions.
Whenever you or a loved one is injured in a serious car accident, seek legal help right away. Sackstein Sackstein & Lee, LLP offers a free consultation to discuss your accident.